Review,  Song and Album Review

AKMU : Sailing Album Review

Hello and welcome to Slow On Blog. Today i will introduce you to one of my favorite singer, AKMU! Not long ago, they released the new album called Sailing and the song How Can I Love the Heartbreak, You’re the One I Love was really a hit! Without further ado, let’s check it out!

Time passes like water flows, I’m building a dam called memories

Time and Fallen Leaves

Who is AKMU?

Lee Chan Hyuk (Left) and Lee Su Hyun (Right)

AKMU or known as Akdong Musician is the duet of two siblings, Lee Chan Hyuk and Lee Su Hyun. They began their debut in April 2014 under YG Entertainment. They created a superb chemistry, Lee Chan Hyuk with his sweet voice while Lee Su Hyun with her soothing voice. I just can’t help not falling in love with them.  

Lee Chan Hyuk

He is a South Korean singer, songwriter, producer and rapper. He is Lee Su Hyun (older) brother who was born in September 12, 1996. He is the main producer of all AKMU’s songs and he can produce a song with just 10 minutes. He has a low voice that will melt everyone hearts. I appreciated his hard work because, mostly the lyrics he made was light and straightforward.  

Lee Su Hyun

She is the main vocal from Akdong Musician and she has a beautiful voice that I guarantee, every girl would like to have her voice. Su Hyun was born in May 4, 1999, aside of being singer, she is also a Radio DJ. The first time I hear her voice was when she sang I’m Different song with Lee Hi. Both of them are a real singer I swear. Aside from AKMU, Su Hyun also had a duet with Lee Hi which known as HI SUHYUN duo. I recommend you to listen to I’m Different, because the song was delightful.

Short biography about their career

August 2012, the duo participated on K-Pop Star 2 show in Seoul. The judges praised their chemistry and Yang Hyun Suk, described them as “true artists”. No wonder, they turned as the winner of the show.

May 24, 2013, the duo signed an exclusive contract with YG Entertainment.

2014-2017, they began their music career and produce many great songs.

September 18, 2018, Lee Chan Hyuk joined the mandatory military with the Korean Marines.

May 29, 2019, Lee Chan Hyuk successfully fulfilled his mandatory military service. After his discharged, AKMU began doing their music activity again and launched their newest album, Sailing.

Discography

#1. Play Album

Released Date: March 31, 2014

Track List:

  1. Give Love
  2. 200%
  3. Melted
  4. On the Subway
  5. Hair Part
  6. Artificial Grass
  7. Hello
  8. Little Star
  9. Anyway
  10. Idea
  11. Galaxy

Written by Lee Chan Hyuk

#2. Spring (Extended from Play Album)

Release Date: May 4, 2016

Track List:

  1. Re-Bye
  2. How People Move
  3. Haughty Girl
  4. Green Window
  5. Every Little Thing
  6. Around.

Written by Lee Chan Hyuk

#3. Winter Album

Released Date: January 3, 2017

Track List:

  1. Live
  2. Reality
  3. Last Goodbye
  4. Play Ugly
  5. Choco lady
  6. You Know Me
  7. Way Back Home
  8. Will Last Forever.

Written by Lee Chan Hyuk

#4. Sailing Album

Sailing is the third and latest album from AKMU which released on September 25, 2019 with lead single How Can I Love the Heartbreak, You’re the One I Love. The songs mostly written by Lee Chan Hyuk but there are 2 songs that were written by Lee Su Hyun which her solo. This album was done with a unique way. Chan Hyuk who engaged as one of the Korean Marine military for 2 years was spending his day in the middle of ocean that made him brought this album as Sailing. By the time he made these songs, he doesn’t have any musical instrument so; he sent his song demo through voice call with his sister. All of their hard work was paid with the released of this album. The song mostly has a mellow melody but some has a happy one. According to my sense, mostly the songs made by AKMU were based on the reality people facing and they made the story through their songs.

Track List:

  1. Sailor’s Song (Lee Su Hyun Solo)
  2. A Fish on Water
  3. How Can I Love the Heartbreak When you’re the One I Love
  4. Moon
  5. Freedom
  6. Should Have Loved More
  7. Whale
  8. Endless Nights
  9. Goodbye (Lee Su Hyun Solo)
  10. Let’s Take Some Time Off

My Favorite Songs

200%

200% is a song that represents someone who is in loves and they sure it’s 200%. The MV is pretty simple, and intelligible, shows how Su Hyun (as the female model) was in love with Nam Jo Hyuk (as the man model) that ends with a twist, because Nam Jo Hyuk had a crush with other girl.

Give Love

Give Love is like the next episode of 200% song. Based on my vision, Give Love is a song that asks someone to give love to them. Continuing from 200% MV, on Give Love MV’s Su Hyun was befriend with the man’s crush and played a role as a third wheel on the relationship.

Time and Fallen Leaves

This song is just wow! For some part of the song, you will hear the piano, the guitar and the cello. Another soothing song is found! The lyrics look like a poem!

Will Last Forever

Will Last Forever is another ballad song from AKMU that will reminds you with the childhood memories. The simple instrument and melodious voice mingled in one beautiful song. The high and low melody that they made, the interlude, the timbre, everything was cool!

How Can I Love the Heartbreak, You’re the One I Love

Everything is in blue color. Blue which also represent something sad. I love this MV so much that I keep repeating the MV for several times. The blue ocean that describes how deep her love is, the painter, the rain and the moves that they made was stunning. This song definitely the masterpiece!

Leave a Reply